Vermont Public is independent, community-supported media, serving Vermont with trusted, relevant and essential information. We share stories that bring people together, from every corner of our region. New to Vermont Public? Start here.

© 2024 Vermont Public | 365 Troy Ave. Colchester, VT 05446

Public Files:

For assistance accessing our public files, please contact or call 802-655-9451.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Enjoy music from VPR including All The Traditions with Robert Resnik, My Place with Joel Najman, Friday Night Jazz with Ray Vega, Safe & Sound with Mary Engisch. We also carry national music programming, including American Routes, All Songs Considered, Alt.Latino, Mountain Stage and Hearts of Space.Check out VPR Classical, too!

A Feast Of First Night Music

Music brings Vermont's new year in with a bang!

New Years Eve music all over the VPR listening area, and some other live shows as the new year begins.

This program will air on Sunday September 27th from 7 - 10 p.m.

This week's calendar announcements:

Featured artists at this year’s Best Night Bristol celebration on New Year's eve include Dana & Susan Robinson, Greg Ryan, Patrick Fitzsimmons, Full Circle, Richard Ruane & Beth Duquette, and Jeh Kulu.

Featured artists at this year’s First Night St. Johnsbury celebration include Bob Amos & Catamount Crossing, the Bayley Hazen Boys, Chickweed, Skip Gorman, Alan & the Doctor, Nisht Geferlach Klezmer Band, Nobby Reed Project, Emily Nyman, the Starline Rhythm Boys, and Woodchuck's Revenge.

Some of the many artists featured this year at First Night Burlington performances include the Bluegrass Gospel Project, Twist of the Wrist, Brett Hughes & Kat Wright, Chris Dorman, Cricket Blue, Dana & Susan Robinson, Willa Mamet & Paul Miller, Francesca Blanchard, Gregory Douglass, Jon Gailmor, Michele Choiniere, Paul Asbell, Prydein, the Queen City Hot Club, the Starline Rhythm Boys, Rick Norcross, Steph Pappas, Rik Palieri, Wheezer & Squeezer, the Will Patton Ensemble, Tenores de Aterue, and Va-et-Vient.

Paul Asbell will perform at the Ripton Community Coffeehouse on Saturday January 2nd.  Music begins at 7:30 p.m.

The DuPont Brothers will be playing at the Good Times Café in Hinesburg on Saturday January 2nd at 8:30 p.m.

The Monadnock Folklore Society presents the Peterborough First Saturday Contra Dance on January 2nd, featuring Steve Zakon-Anderson with Ed Howe and Eric McDonald. The dance will be held at the Town House in Peterborough, NH, and dancing begins at 8 p.m.

John & Ida Mae Specker will present a free concert of Traditional American Fiddle and Banjo Music at the Andover Town Hall on Sunday January 3rd from 2-4 p.m.

The Richmond Old Round Church New Year’s Eve concert this year features Patti Casey and Tom MacKenzie, Jericho blues guitarist Bill Ellis, and Vermont Young Tradition graduates Hannah Beth Crary and the Zeichners. Music begins at 7:30 pm, with an optional and delicious dinner served at 5 p.m.

Willa Mamet and Paul Miller will be giving a house concert in Plainfield on Tuesday December 29th.  For reservations or information, please contact Mary Trerice  @ 802 454-7334, or by email at

Dave Keller will be hosting his own musical New Years and DVD release party at Montpelier City Hall on New Year’s Eve. Doors open at 7:30.

There will be a New Year’s Ball at Tracy Hall in Norwich on Thursday December 31st featuring a Contra Dance with Luke Donforth calling, music by Calliope.  Dancing begins at 8 p.m.

Concerts at the Schoolhouse presents Pete’s Posse at the Landmark Schoolhouse in Lower Cabot on Sunday January 3rd at 3 p.m.

The annual Decadent Dessert Shape Note Singing Party will be held on January 3, 3 PM, at the Unitarian Church hall in Derby Line,followed by a potluck supper featuring delicious desserts. All are welcome; loaner books are available

Robert Resnik has been the host of All the Traditions, Vermont Public's folk and world music show, since 1996. He is the winner of the 2019 Herb Lockwood Prize In the Arts, an honor that rewards the pinnacle of arts leadership in Vermont and is the recipient of the 2022 Margaret L Kannenstine Award for Arts Advocacy from the Vermont Council of the Arts.
Latest Stories